Old Post: You

I posted this on my old blog account a year ago. I ready today and it resonated so much I just had to share it again here.

 

…………

A little bit of inspiration for all of you, this is supposed to be the midweek post (aka sleepless night post). I was supposed to write prose but I really wanted to give you something different (in other words, I was feelin’ lazy ). The poem is a philosophic kind of missive, a series of questions in which the listener is asked to ask himself a series of questions (are you a fish?… how do you know you’re not a fish?). In the vein of making this more ‘African’, I set it in the local call and response form of several traditional dirges, appellations etc. (Educational Training College)

 

Is there a reason for you to breathe
a reason for you to be
are you a rock
are you a reed
just waving in the breeze

Refrain:
I want to view you
review you
test and then renew you
mould you as better man
open you to the greater plan

If we all were walking colours
what colour would you have been
are you a brown
are you a green
do you change for society

Refrain:
I want to view you
review you
test and then renew you
mould you as better man
open you to the greater plan

Are you confident in your skin
confident of of what you think
do you listen
are able
to state your living mission

Refrain:
I want to view you
review you
test and then renew you
mould you as better man
open you to the greater plan

When you wake after you sleep
if you really ever sleep
are you hopeful
do you fear
or do you have no good idea

Refrain:
I want to view you
review you
test and then renew you
mould you as better man
open you to the greater plan

And let’s go back to the beginning
that is to say, the first inning
do you love
do you hate
do you love yourself enough

Refrain:
I want to view you
review you
test and then renew you
mould you as better man
open you to the greater plan

 

Leave a Reply

