This

This, could be beautiful

 

Like moons and stars and waterfalls

Like orchids and fields of buttercups

More or less so,

A little more though,

But really, it could be beautiful

 

This could be real, real good

 

I’m not talking physical

Passion after all, is emotional

I know, ‘cos I’m sure

Even if you are less so

But this is much more than mere chemicals

 

And, damn, you know I want this

 

As bad as an addict who is going cold

As bad as a memory I want to hold

Isn’t this odd

I haven’t felt this before

I want to be with you when I’m growing old

 

Damn, God knows I want this so bad

 

‘This’ poetry based on an extract from a song I wrote (not because of a girl people; just because). The italicised bits were pulled directly from the hook of the song. Most of the first two verses came to me as I was brushing my teeth this morning.

Leave a Reply

