SEGT: Scene 2 Prewriting

Hello mine underlings of the 9 realms of Yggdrasil ( see the about page for an explanation of that craziness)

Two nights ago I was struck by inspiration at the witching hour, for scene 2 of the Silver eyes golden torcs (SEGT) serial anthology. Read scene 1 on wattpad [here]

Relax. The witching hour is nothing supernatural, it’s just a time frame between 0100 and 0400 where I’m half dreaming and half awake. I borrowed the term from Roald Dahl’s ‘The Big Friendly Giant’.

I got my trusty iPad stylus and jotted down the ideas that came to me. This was one of the concrete ones that developed (Sorry. My handwriting is rather atrocious) :

IMG_0256Translation (for those of you who don’t read Scribblish) – Begin with: Aya, the left half of my heart, the right half of my soul, has left. She didn’t just leave me. She left any hope for an US.

I also scribbled down the format I would take on this scene. I went for a T-minus countdown slash first person journal kind of vibe. See below:IMG_0255Translation: 3 days to go, 2 days to go, 16h 25mins to go. A counter begins in my head… 682 days to go.

I’ll post a preview of scene two on this blog by 1900 GMT…hopefully. The full scene (short story) will only be available on wattpad [search for me on wattpad: @kwesiwoode].

SEGT is a dystopic parody of real world events, even though it is social/political science fiction. I’ll probably post the core, real world event that inspired each scene on this blog as we go along.

 

WRITING TIP: Pre-write, Speed-write, Post-write and then Edit and Review. This five step process can save a lot time. It’s also a sort of vaccine against major attacks of writers block (the minor ones like the: I-need-a-perfect-word-for-this migraine may still persist. If symptoms persist for more than 3 days, see your Mentor)

I have seen many forms of pre-writing, but ultimately, I believe you have to pick a style of pre-writing that you are comfortable with.

Will talk more about the five step process later…. and now I realize that with just this one post I have created a tall list of blog posts that I have to write (sweatdrop and shivers).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

