Why I can’t love you

Hey D.C.
Don’t you hate me
I got a lot of stress now
And I can’t be
Coming around you every time
You been spending all my dimes
I don’t really think that you love me

D.C. above refers to Dansoman Community, a neighborhood within the City of Accra. The City of Accra is the Administrative, Commercial and Judicial Capital of the Republic of Ghana. It has expanded rapidly and engulfed neighboring towns, now even exceeding the boundaries of the Greater Accra Region of which it also Regional Capital.

And Kumasi
We may get messy
You be my Barcelona
Give you best feat
I’ve been taking time to grow
I’ve been breaking
I be broke
I don’t really think that you love me

Kumasi (or Kumase), now capital of the Ashanti Region, is the ancient capital city of the pre-colonial Asante Empire. It is still the capital of the (much smaller) Asante Kingdom; centered in Manhyia which loosely translates to “where the State/Kingdom meets”.

Hello Tema
Let’s be real Ma
You been by backbone
I’ve just been a tumor
Maybe I’ve been doing things
That and seven deadly sins
And Now
I really don’t think you should love me

Tema, close to the City of Accra, is the home of the Tema Harbour. A planned community project by Ghana’s first president, Kwame Nkrumah, it also sits right squarely on the Greenwich Meridian.

Tell me Kof Town
Can we get down?
On the other hand
I’ll just be a let down
I pluck your flowers errday
But I won’t be here to stay
I really don’t think I can love you

Koforidua, aka Kof Town, is the highest Regional capital in Ghana (Capital of the Eastern Region). It is also said to have the densest distribution of beautiful girls in Ghana; Koforidua’s Flowers.

Hey Cape Coast
What you don’t know
Won’t kill you
It’s been tough since Gold coast
You got a lot of honeys
Needing a lot of money
I got nothing so you’ve been a no show

Cape Coast was once known Cabo Corso.  It was the original capital of the Gold Coast before the capital city was moved to the City of Accra.

And Tamale
What’s the hurry?
We’ve been hanging out
Since Atari
We been to a lot of parties
You have been my favorite lady
But you haven’t yet told me you love me

Tamale, formerly adminstrative Capital of the Northern Territories of the Gold Coast, is the flattest City in Ghana. It is now capital City of the Northern Region.

Tell me Sunyani
Why you always talking money
So you’re industrious
But you’re not very funny
You can’t follow any jokes
You don’t understand ‘bespoke’
How did you ever think that I could love you?

Sunyani is said to be the cleanest City in Ghana. It’s also close to the historical town of Techiman, once center of the Gyaman State, the spiritual home of all Akan tribes including the Asante, Fante and Baoulé.

Bolgatanga
Slim as a hangar
I like slim
But you remind me of hunger
I put a baby in your oven
Then you gave it to a coven
I’m way too scared to even love you

Bolgatanga, aka Bolga, is another Ancient Ghanaian settlement. It was at the southernmost tip of Trans-Saharan trade during the Pre-colonial era.

Pretty young Wa
Mamacita
You’re too young girl
Don’t even come closer
You are just a little sister
Really nice to meet you
You are lovely but I can’t love you

Wa, brackets with Ho as one of the places in Ghana with the shortest place-name. It also shares with Bolga, the honour of being one of Ghana’s youngest Regional Capitals

And then we come to…
You
Technically, A Ho
I know you’ve changed
But history is ugly
Get me wrong or get me right
I really do not mind
You and I?
Never. We can’t be

Ho and it’s nearby sister city Hohoe were originally part of Togoland, a German territory ceded to the British and the French after the first world war. The British bit (Trans-Volta Togoland) voted to join Ghana after independence as the Volta Region.

Takoradi
O so naughty
You’ve been my girl
But you can’t be my wifey
Mom and Daddy both complain
They say,
This your girl she is insane
I am sorry. I cannot love you

Takoradi, aka T’adi, is twin-town to neighbouring Sekondi (even though Takoradi is smidge bigger). Together, the two towns form the City of Sekondi-Takoradi, capital city of Ghana’s Western Region

 

Please make time to click here and check out my fictional work on Wattpad

Leave a comment